Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), Stuart Robert, today announced the new and returning members of the Independent Advisory Council from 1 July 2020.

The Independent Advisory Council provides formal advice to the Board of the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA), the governing body of the NDIS, on the most important issues affecting participants, carers and families.

Robyn Kruk AO has been appointed as the new Principal Member and is joined by four other new members. Sam Paior, Mark Tonga, Sharon Boyce, and WWDA President – Tricia Malowney OAM, who bring a diverse suite of experience in various aspects of the disability sector, disability advocacy, and sensory, physical and intellectual disability.

Photo above: WWDA President Tricia Malowney.

All current members were reappointed for another term.

Minister Robert said each member brings their individual insights, knowledge and experience to the table. This is vital to achieving the best outcomes for participants and delivering the NDIS effectively.

Tricia Malowney OAM is a proud woman with a disability who is passionate about advocating for women and girls with disabilities needs.

She has experience in Women’s and Disability Sectors and is skilled in governance as a Director at Scope Australia, Western Health, Independent Disability Services and Australian Orthotics and Prosthetics Association. She was also the first chair of Women with Disabilities Victoria.

WWDA would like to congratulate Tricia and wish her luck in this new role.